Latest News

13 Municipalities under administration

Date: 04-12-2013


Cape Town - Thirteen municipalities in three provinces are under administration, according to Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs Minister Lechesa Tsenoli.

Ten of the provincial interventions were the result of the municipalities failing to "fulfil their obligations", while a further three were under financial management, he said in a written reply to a parliamentary question on Monday.

They included Indaka, Mtubatuba, Imbabazane, Abaqulusi, and Umvoti local municipalities (KwaZulu-Natal); Ditsobotla, Maquassi Hills, and Matlosana local municipalities (North West); and, Emalahleni, and Bushbuckridge local municipalities (Mpumalanga).

"In addition, there are three municipalities that are under discretionary financial interventions. They are Umzinyathi, Uthukela, and Ugu district municipalities in KwaZulu-Natal."

Tsenoli said intervention in a municipality was triggered by failure to fulfil an executive obligation, failure to approve a budget, or a breach of obligations.

Smart metro | t:0861 000 313 | e: | w: